George RR Martin Book List

Cover of "Windhaven"
Cover of Windhaven

George Raymond Richard Martin (born September 20, 1948), aka GRRM, is an American author and screenwriter of fantasy, horror, and science fiction. He is best known for his epic fantasy series A Song of Ice and Fire.


* Dying of the Light (1977)
* Windhaven (1981, with Lisa Tuttle)
* Fevre Dream (1982)
* The Armageddon Rag (1983)

A Song of Ice and Fire

A Game of Thrones (1996)
A Clash of Kings (1998)
A Storm of Swords (2000)
A Feast for Crows (2005)
A Dance with Dragons (forthcoming)
The Winds of Winter (forthcoming)
A Dream of Spring (forthcoming)

Selected novellas & novelettes

Tales of Dunk and Egg series - set in the world of A Song of Ice and Fire
o "The Hedge Knight" (1998)
o "The Sworn Sword" (2003)
o "The Mystery Knight" (2010)

* "A Song for Lya", originally in Analog, June 1974.
* Night of the Vampyres, originally in Amazing, 1975, re-published in The Best Military Science Fiction of the 20th Century
* "The Skin Trade" (1989) from the three-author collection Dark Visions. The werewolf novella "The Skin Trade," (1989 )has been optioned for film by Mike the Pike Productions.
* Sandkings, Martins most anthologized story to date and the only one of his to win both the Hugo and the Nebula awards.
* Meathouse Man, first published in 1976, in Orbit 18. (Originally intended for Harlan Ellison's notorious "The Last Dangerous Visions" anthology, GRRM has admitted that this is probably the darkest, most depressing story he has ever done and that he still finds it painful to re-read nearly thirty years after its publication.)

Children's books

* The Ice Dragon (Originally printed in 1980 as a short story, illustrated and re-printed as a children's book in October, 2006)


* A Song for Lya (1976)
* Songs of Stars and Shadows (1977)
* Sandkings (1981)
* Songs the Dead Men Sing (1983)
* Nightflyers (1985)
* Tuf Voyaging (1987, collection of linked stories)
* Portraits of His Children (1987)
* Quartet (2001)
* GRRM: A RRetrospective (2003; reissued 2006 and 2007 as Dreamsongs)

Wild Cards (also contributor to many volumes)

* Wild Cards I (1987)
* Wild Cards II: Aces High (1987)
* Wild Cards III: Jokers Wild (1987)
* Wild Cards IV: Aces Abroad (1988)
* Wild Cards V: Down & Dirty (1988)
* Wild Cards VI: Ace in the Hole (1990)
* Wild Cards VII: Dead Man's Hand (1990)
* Wild Cards VIII: One-Eyed Jacks (1991)
* Wild Cards IX: Jokertown Shuffle (1991)
* Wild Cards X: Double Solitaire (1992)
* Wild Cards XI: Dealer's Choice (1992)
* Wild Cards XII: Turn of the Cards (1993)

* Wild Cards: Card Sharks (1993) (Book I of a New Cycle trilogy)
* Wild Cards: Marked Cards (1994) (Book II of a New Cycle trilogy)
* Wild Cards: Black Trump (1995) (Book III of a New Cycle trilogy)

* Wild Cards: Deuces Down (2002)
* Wild Cards: Death Draws Five (2006)
* Wild Cards: Inside Straight (2008) (Book I of the Committee triad)
* Wild Cards: Busted Flush (2008) (Book II of the Committee triad)
* Wild Cards: Suicide Kings (2009)(Book III of the Committee triad)
* Wild Cards: Fort Freak" href="">Reblog this post